Project Management

From the start of my project i wanted to have an organised makeup and shoot, to do this i wanted to create plans for a number of things, so that it could run smoothly as possible, as failing to prepare is preparing to fail.

After i got my initial ideas and concept on aboard, i began to think out a budget plan of how much i could afford to send as well as potentially needed to spend, As my project was yet to be set in stone as exactly how i was going to perform it, or sculpt it, i wasn’t quite sure about exactly how much i would need, so the best i could do was make a small plan of what i might possibly need, and then add 10 percent on either way so that i had room for any unplanned items, as not all shoots/makeups will run smoothly and will need last minute items. For my budget i originally estimated £300, this gave me a fair budget with a little extra incase of nay additional cost. Below i have attached my budget plan.

Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 22.18.39

I have managed to stay within my budget plan, spending £262. I wanted to be quite careful with my money and management. By using the photographers personal studio this saved on studio rental. I found learning how to manage money a very important process in the development of myself as a makeup artist, as i feel it is professional, being able to find the best possible products/makeup and be able to manage money at the same time. Managing money has made me aware of testing products/ideas as not always the more expensive option is the best option.

I then decided to create a work plan for my practical work – How many weeks i had, what i need to do, in correspondence to how much time i had. This is vital when working with prosthetics, as i needed to allow for prep, drying time, cleaning ect..

Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 22.06.38 Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 22.06.45 Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 22.06.56 Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 22.07.03 Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 22.07.09

This was the basic breakdown of my practical work over the period of weeks from Jan to may  leading up to my hand in on 1st May, then the extra week extension,  This was a rough timetable i set out to work towards. This was a great help, as it kept me organised and to date with my work, i felt this was another aspect that will help me develop as a makeup artist. I mostly kept to this plan but there was times throughout the project when things didn’t go to plan and i had to change the schedule to adjust this. For example.. no products in shop and having to reconsider products i used. I managed to stay within the timetabled schedule with this as i changed the product i used which had a quick process straight to fibreglassing which cut the time in half. Throughout this project i had to manage my practical timetable, along with other schedule classes, essays and research. i found juggling a lot of things at once very hard, but i felt that if you timetable things out and organise your self it is half the battle.

Healthy and Safety.

Its very important that the model is kept safe during the makeup application,as well as myself and anyone else in the studio, to make sure this happens and the application runs smoothly, i have created a quick list of the safety issues i need to mark off before starting.

Patch test the model – Aqua Fix, airbush, illustrator palette, alginate, silicone

check for contra indications – eg.skin infections

protective clothing – gown

area well ventilated

Clean work area -tidy

no water near electrical equipment

PAT test on electrical equipment

Lights on

safety exits clear and marked

no baggage, excess items around area/floor

clean hand, hygiene, brushes

harmful chemicals well labelled

Leave a Reply

